My Hopes In 8 Categories For The 56th Annual Grammy Awards

20140121-202920.jpg

The 56th Grammy Awards are on this coming Sunday, January 26th. They are my favorite awards show to watch, and I decided that I wanted to do a list of who I wanted to win in 8 categories this year. Enjoy, and comment any that you agreed or disagreed with me on in this post’s comments box!

1. Record Of The Year
There aren’t any real strong contenders in this category, but my pick would be Locked Out of Heaven by Bruno Mars. Though this is not his best song, Mars did perform it well and is probably the most deserving of record of the year.

2. Album Of The Year
My choice in this category would be a resounding pick for The Heist by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. I absolutely loved the songs on this album, and was inspired by their social connection. The 2 guys also built this album without mainstream support to the top, and they should be commended for that.

3. Song Of The Year
I liked best, out of the nominees, Same Love by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. Again, Macklemore has a knack for connecting his music to society, and did a great job with this one.

4. Best Rap Performance
I have to go with Tom Ford by Jay-Z. While it isn’t his best song on the album, it does stand out among the others as the strongest.

5. Best Rap/Sung Collaboration
My 2 favorite artists together, and the cutest couple in show business, I choose Part II (On The Run) by Jay-Z and Beyonce. Jay is one of the best rappers to ever live, and Bey may be the greatest voice and star to ever enter Hollywood, so putting them together was a no brainer. They both use their swag to work the song, and it comes out a resounding accomplishment.

6. Best Rap Song
What could I go with other than Holy Grail by Jay-Z and Justin Timberlake? JT and Jay fit together in a song really well, and it was, surprisingly, a beautiful song.

7. Best Rap Album
Well, if my past choices haven’t already told you, it would be Magna Carta…Holy Grail by Jay-Z. With powerhouse collaborations including Beyonce, JT, and Frank Ocean, Jay hit it right with this album. This album has cemented him to the standing as a rapper that only Eminem holds too.

8. Best Song Written For Visual Media
My favorite James Bond movie is Skyfall, and one of my favorite singers is Adele, I have to pick Skyfall by Adele. With her once in a lifetime voice, and its pairing with the awesome opening credit scene of the movie, Skyfall is one of the best songs of the year.

I look forward to performances by Beyonce and Jay-Z, and look forward to seeing if my hopes are fulfilled Sunday night on CBS!

(Credit to the nomination information goes to http://www.grammy.com)

Leave a Reply

